9 States Where Residents Will Need a Passport to Travel Through Any TSA Check Point in 2018

This post contains references to products from one or more of our advertisers. We may receive compensation when you click on links to those products. For an explanation of our Advertising Policy, visit this page.

woman sitting in airport

Starting January 22, 2018, driver’s licenses issued by a hand full of states will no longer be acceptable at any TSA checkpoints. So if you’re a resident of Kentucky, Maine, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, or Washington you’ll need to make sure that you have a valid passport or another form of valid ID if you’re flying anywhere domestically! Currently the driver’s licenses in these states fail to meet the federal government’s minimum-security standards under the Real ID Act that was passed in 2005.

Although there is some confusion surrounding when and how the Act will be completely enforced, the TSA is taking advantage of the heavily trafficked holiday season to post notices to inform travelers of the impending changes. Signs were seen in both Chicago’s O’Hare Airport and in Minneapolis-St. Paul International just last week.

The Real ID Act was originally passed by congress with the ultimate objective of making fake IDs more difficult to obtain. States were to comply by incorporating anti-counterfeit technology, doing background checks on those individuals issuing licenses, and other security parameters into their ID practices. Currently only 24 states plus D.C. meet all the standards set by the Act, but extensions have been issued through October of next year to revamp their existing practices.

Acceptable forms of identification include U.S. Passports, military identification, and U.S. issued permanent resident cards.

Currently, only the nine above have not complied with any changes. The TSA has stated that it could grant additional extensions if they choose to do so, but as of today none of the aforementioned states have done so.

Stay tuned. We’ll continue to keep you up to date on what’s going on in these nine states, and in yours as well. If you have any questions, we would love to hear from you. Simply let Point Savvy know what you think.

Barclaycard Arrival Plus® World Elite Mastercard®

  • Enjoy 40,000 bonus miles after you spend $3,000 on purchases in the first 90 days – that’s enough to redeem for a $400 travel statement credit toward an eligible travel purchase.
  • Earn 2X miles on all purchases
  • Get 5% miles back to use toward your next redemption, every time you redeem
  • Miles don’t expire as long as your account is open, active and in good standing
  • No foreign transaction fees on purchases made while traveling abroad
  • 0% introductory APR for 12 months on Balance Transfers made within 45 days of account opening. After that, a variable APR will apply, 16.99%, 20.99% or 23.99%, based on your creditworthiness. There is a fee for balance transfers.

40,000 miles

Balance Transfer
0% Intro APR for 12 months

Ongoing APR
16.99%, 20.99%, or 23.99% variable

Annual Fee
$0 first year; then $89

Share This

Leave a Reply

*Advertiser Disclosure: The credit card offers that appear on the website are from credit card companies some from which pointsavvy.com receives compensation. Any compensation may impact how and where products appear on this site (including, for example, the order in which they appear). This site does not include all credit card companies or all available credit card offers.

Editorial Note: Opinions expressed here are author's alone, not those of any bank, credit card issuer, airline or hotel chain, and have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by any of these entities.